Spread the love

January 2019: The Poona Club Limited, one of the oldest and most prestigious clubs in the country is organizing ‘The Poona Club Golf League 2019’ from January 25th to 27th. This first of its kind Golf League will be conducted at the magnificent Poona Club Golf Course which is the only 18 hole golf course in the city spread across 100 acres. Auction of the players for the much-awaited league was conducted at Westin Pune on January 6th 2019 in the presence of the President, Vice President of Poona Club and Golf Captain, Marquee players, coaches, team owners and the organizing committee.

Announcing the league, Andrew Pinto, Chairman of the league said, “We are proud to organize a unique golfing tournament which is the first of its kind not only in our city but also in our state. Golf is gaining momentum in the country and we are happy to provide a platform for budding players to hone their talent for the sport. The league will create excitement about this wonderful sport and will help in connecting more members with the sport.”

The player auction was successfully conducted on January 6th at Westin Pune. Team owners auctioned for players to be divided into 8 teams consisting of 12 players each. This league will also give a big boost to women players as well as youths as it is mandatory for each team to have at least one lady player and a junior player below 16 each. The eight teams have been named as Poona Eagles owned by the Poonawala Group, Roary’s Lions by The Westin, Milkha’s Aces by Panchshil, Eye of the Tiger by Filtrum, The Holey Ones by Vascon, Amazing Albatrosses by the Kalyani Group, The Angry Birdies by Shirke, Swinging Sultans by Syska.

Some of the marquee players include Dr. Date for Poonawala, Rohan Dholepatil for Roary’s Lions, Pratik Nimale for Panchshil, Shishir Donde for Kalyani Amazing Albatrosses, Amit Bhattachrya for Vascon The Holey Ones, Jay Shirke for Shirke The Angry Birdies, Aaron Rocky for Syska Swinging Sultans, Col Dhar for Filtrum Eye of the Tiger amongst other talented players.

The league will be played in three rounds such as Round Robin, Semi-Finals and Final format.

The organizing committee comprises of proficient members such as Swatik Sirsikar (Captain), Andrew Pinto (Chairman), Indraneel Mujgule (Committee Member), Aditya Deshmukh (Committee Member) and Aditya Kanetkar (Tournament Director).

Related Posts

Neha Kokare is all set to represent India at Miss Aura International 2019

Touch A Life Foundation donates most needed Hearing aids to the students from Santa Gadge Maharaj School, Pune

One arrested for possession of Pistol

Chinese New Year “YEAR OF THE PIG”

ASM’s IBMR to host first of its kind global conference on ‘On-going Research in Management & IT’ in Pune

‘Never too late in life to learn new skills’: Dr Devi Prasad Shetty at 2nd Annual Future of Learning Conference hosted by IIMB and IIT Bombay


Reply comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *